Colgate Women’s Track 30 Years Ago

As I am packing to move my family, and digging through the proverbial treasures in the attic, I pulled out several old Colgate news articles that brought back some awesome memories. 30 years ago, during my junior year at Colgate, several women approached me about forming a Colgate women’s track club and asked if I would assist with coaching.

After running injuries and less than stellar grades sophomore year forced me to take a hiatus from competing for the Colgate men’s cross country and track teams (varsity sports) under the late Coach Jan Hunsinger, I was thrilled and honored to be able to help out and support these women in starting 30 years ago what is today a competitive Division I cross country and track program under the able leadership of Director Art McKinnon and his coaching staff.

Leave a Reply

